Adult Foster Homes

Adult foster homes are inspected and licensed single family residences that offer care in a homelike setting with 5 or less residents. Adult foster care is often chosen by consumers because care is provided in a homelike setting and can be more affordable than other care facilities. Informal adult foster care has been a part of our society for years.

Some providers are able to provide more complex care because of their training and experience and/or help from visiting nurses. A caregiver may receive instruction from a registered nurse to perform a care task specific to a particular resident. Some providers may be able to meet your care needs if you are coming to the adult foster home directly from the hospital after surgery or you are recovering from a serious illness. Other adult foster home providers have special training to provide care for people with Alzheimer’s disease, brain injuries, AIDS, respiratory failure, or the need for Hospice services.

Some Things to Keep in Mind While Visiting the Homes are:

  • Who provides care in the home: Does the owner lives in the home, or is there a Resident Manager who lives in the home and is the main caregiver?
  • What are the schedules and/or routines of the home?
  • What are the care needs of the other residents?
  • Would you feel comfortable living with the other residents and caregivers in the home?
  • How do residents interact with one another?

Adult Foster Home Classifications

There are three classifications of adult foster home licenses in Oregon. The classifications are based on the experience and/or training of the provider. Each home has a license posted that indicates the classification of the home.

  1. A licensee with a Class 1 license may only admit residents who need assistance in no more than four activities of daily living (ADLs).
  2. A licensee with a Class 2 license may provide care for residents who require assistance in all activities of daily living, but require full assistance in no more
    than three activities of daily living.
  3. A licensee with a Class 3 license may provide care for residents who require
    full assistance in four or more activities
    of daily living.

In each classification, the provider can only admit residents with a certain number of impairments. These impairments are defined according to
six major activities of daily living (ADLs). These are eating/nutrition, dressing, personal hygiene, mobility, toileting and behavior management.

Adult Foster Home Lists

You can find adult foster homes with vacancies matching criteria you specify

Senior Services in Jackson County
at 541-776-6222

Senior and Disability Services in
Josephine County 541-474-3110

Article Provided by:
Retirement Connection